Ignite

A couple of weeks back (has it been that long?) I presented at an event called Ignite Sydney.

Ignite is a simplified presentation format where you get only fifteen seconds to talk to a slide, resulting in a five minute presentation.

There were some fantastic presentations there too, some in format, some in the content, some both, but I loved how it didn’t just stick to the one topic. There were a few that really got me thinking. One of my favourites of the night would have to have been Rob Perkins from Naked, who did a fantastic preso on being childlike to be creative – something we seem to keep being told and still seem to keep forgetting.

I also have to give a nod to Mark Pollard here as well – not only was his talk some great content delivered in his own inimitable style (beatboxer and all) but frankly, if I hadn’t seen his tweet about throwing in a submission I might have missed the whole thing entirely.

I love the challenge of stuff like this – I’m not the world’s most natural presenter, so its a way of stretching myself. I also did a really crap presentation a few years ago and have since sworn to myself that I will never do another bad one. Hopefully.

You can see a photo of me looking pensive here. Surprised there’s no motion blur on my shaky hand.

I’ve been thinking about whether or not I should post the slides from the night, as they don’t really work without the talk, but there was some stuff in it I wouldn’t mind retelling. I’ll try to morph it into some kind of post, which should be up in the next couple of days, work permitting.

Big thanks to the organisers and speakers for such a fantastic opportunity and a great night. Definitely worth going to, so keep an eye out for the next one.

The most ironic bit of the whole thing – after spending all this time talking about the importance of having time to yourself, I had to skip drinks afterwards and head back into the office to finish a few things off for a morning presentation.

Will make up for it next time.

Leave a Reply

